Los Rios College Federation of Teachers 2126 K Street Sacramento, CA 95816 May 8, 2024

Present: Jason Newman, Belinda Lum, Teresa Aldredge, Michael Henderson, Linda Sneed, Gabriel Torres, LaQuisha Beckum, Art Jenkins, Josh Fernandez, Rebecca Goodchild, Stephanie Rowe, Veronica Lopez, Leon Smith, Dennis Smith, Kalinda Jones, Bill Miller, Kalee Christensen, Katie Carbary, Jacob Traugott, Matt Register, Michael Angelone, David Reese, Iris Dimond

Excused:

Absent: Jackie Vargas-Ornate, Teresa Urkofsky

Action Items passed:

Creation of LRCFT Leadership Handbook

- I. Newman convenes the LRCFT Executive Board 3:00 PM
- **II.** Beckum moves to approve agenda with changes and April 17, 2024 minutes. Dimond seconds the motion. Motion carries.
- III. Public Comment: None

Action

IV. <u>LRCFT Resolution in support of DAS</u>: (2nd Read)

Updated resolution is reviewed for board members. Shubb addresses changes to the document. Smith discusses addition of Article 15 to the resolution. Jones discusses the proposal to support DAS resolution and the union's solidarity with DAS. Edits are addressed. Sneed moves to support DAS resolution, Dimond seconds the motion. Motion passes unanimously.

V. <u>Dean Murakami Faculty Excellence Awards</u>: (3rd Read)

Miller reviews revised motion based on input from the first read on 3 April 2024 and the second read on 17 April 2024. We motion to create an LRCFT Faculty Award for one full-time faculty member and one parttime faculty member with a cash award of \$1,000 each. The proposed name of the awards would be the "Dean Murakami LRCFT Faculty Award for full-time faculty and the "Paul Baltimore LRCFT Faculty Award" for part-time faculty. Current LRCFT EB members would not be eligible for the awards. A committee of 1-2 LRCFT members from each campus would serve to determine awardees. Details such as the application process, timeline, and award criteria would be determined by the committee. This committee would be a separate committee or part of a new or current committee. These awards would be given annually. Torres speaks against the motion and urges board members to oppose the proposal. Torres states the union should focus on obtaining a better COLA for faculty. Smith sees the potential for LRCFT to decide what looks goo to LRCFT and every college would nominate their faculty for good union work. Smith will support if the committee comes back with criteria for nomination. Traugott is concerned that board members would not be considered for the award. There are board members that have done good work on behalf of the union that should be recognized. Traugott suggest considering giving a plague. Register voices concern regarding the use of members dues to award a few members and feels the money would be better used to build relationship between the union and the senate. Aldredge speaks against the motion, there are members who have done good work for the union that have not been recognized. L. Smith suggests the board move on from this proposal. Miller withdraws the motion.

VI. Support for Summer Project: Creation of an LRCFT Members Handbook: (2nd Read)

Sneed proposes to pull the Members Handbook from the table to focus on the Leaders handbook.

VII. Support for Summer Project: Creation of an LRCFT Leaders Handbook: (2nd Read)

Sneed discussing prioritizing the leader's handbook. Smith agrees the leader's handbook should be a priority. Traugott suggests review past committee's budgets to help with budget proposal for the Leader's handbook. Carbary suggests the board approve the committee to do the work now and come back with a budget at the next board meeting. Rowe will help create a budget proposal for the committee's work. Carbary moves to approve the Leader's handbook committee group, Goodchild seconds the motion. Motion carries. Sneed asks board members to reach out to her if interested in participating. Torres suggests using the AFT/CFT leadership handbook as a reference.

Discussion

VIII. Constitution/By-laws Proposed Changes:

Duties of Elected Representatives, College VPs and College Reps with proposed changes are reviewed and discussed. Elections reviewed and discussed.

Adjourn 4:30 PM

Jason Newman, President

Stephanie Rowe, Secretary-Treasurer